Bigredcoat

Videogames, politics, science, all the important things in life.

T-MINUS TWENTY FOUR HOURS UNTIL THE BLISS

Posted by nfinit on January 4, 2010

I have a simple metric for determining a good game.

If when I’m playing that game and I can’t think about anything else but that game, and when I’m not playing that game, I’m thinking about playing it, that’s when I know I’ve been exposed to a good game.

It’s only happened a handful of times that I can recall.  The first Sonic the Hedgehog was probably my earliest pre-Crash example.  certainly Lunar: Silver Star Story, Final Fantasy VI and Chrono Trigger apply as well.  There have been some times when I have fallen before the particular malady of the MMORPG, but I confess I am but a weak man and these prolonged lapses should not be held against me.

But it’s another thing entirely for me to become obsessed with a game before that game is ever released, and that is what has become of my infatuation with Hideki Kamiya’s upcoming masterpiece, Bayonetta.  I’m infatuated with the demo, for chrissake and I was jonesing for that demo so bad that I could not wait for the American version to release and instead borrowed account information from a Japanese Xbox Live account and downloaded the Japanese game demo about three months ago.

Anyway, all this is to say that when you see review scores from Edge and the like giving the game either perfect 10s or scores in the high 90’s, that’s not a mistake.  It’s possibly the finest action game we’ll see crafted this generation, much like Ninja Gaiden on the Xbox 1.

As we await for Bayonetta to grace us with gaming perfection and render the next 11 months of GOTY discussion moot, allow me to use the magic of streaming internet video to help you understand why exactly your life is less complete without Bayonetta in it.

Friend of the blog and bigger Sega fan that you are BlazeHedgehog offers a play through of the aforementioned Japanese demo from October

And here’s Giant Bomb’s Quicklook from the same demo– since Giant Bomb sucks and refuses to allow streaming directly from thier video feed, we’ll pretend it’s 1998 all over again and offer a direct link instead:

http://www.giantbomb.com/quick-look-bayonetta-demo/17-1480/

One Response to “T-MINUS TWENTY FOUR HOURS UNTIL THE BLISS”

  1. logan said

    Man the music for this game also sounds perfect

    I want to be there when you get it

    In the background

    Watching

Leave a Reply

 
